Chicken Story Time
Author: Sandy Asher
Illustrator: Mark Fearing
Published December 13th, 2016 by Dial Books

 About the Book: A wonderfully silly take on library story time that’s perfect for children, chickens, and everyone in between!

Why did the chicken cross the road? To get to story time at the library, of course! The children like the chicken, the chicken likes the children, and everyone loves story time. So it’s no surprise that more children (and more chickens!) get in on the fun until there are more kids and critters than the librarian knows what to do with. Luckily, she comes up with a creative solution and manages to find little R & R for herself.

Fans of Bats in the Library and Library Lion will fall in love and story time will never be the same!

My Thoughts: Even chickens love books in this story! The draw of a good story can make anyone want to spend time at the library, and in this story, those anyone are chickens. Lots of chickens. And when there are too many people (& chickens) at the story time, it is up to the librarian, who is obviously always on her toes, to change things up and make everyone happy by the end of the story.

How This Book Was Made
Author: Mac Barnett
Illustrator: Adam Rex
Published September 6th, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion

About the Book: You may think you know how this book was made, but you don’t. Sure, the author wrote many drafts, and the illustrator took a long time creating the art, but then what? How’d it get into your hands? Well, open the cover and read through these pages to find out. Just beware of the pirates and angry tiger.

New York Times best-selling creators Mac Barnett and Adam Rex reveal the nitty gritty process of making a book . . . with a few unexpected twists along the way! Budding writers and artists will laugh at the mix of reality and the absurd as the story makes its way to a shelf, and a reader.

My Thoughts: This hilarious book shows the reader how an idea gets turned into a picture book in easy step-by-step instructions. Oh, and there is a tiger. Oh, and there is Malaysia. And a boat which gets attacked by pirates. But overall, it is just an easy step-by-step instruction manual on how to make a book. Well, if you are Mac Barnett and Adam Rex. If your’re not, there are more steps. In a perfect mix of seriousness and silliness this book will be a great read aloud!

Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit, Book Burglar
Author and Illustrator: Emily MacKenzie
Published March 17th, 2015 by Bloomsbury

About the Book: Some rabbits dream about lettuces and carrots, others dream of flowering meadows and juicy dandelions, but Ralfy dreams only of books. In fact, he doesn’t just dream about them, he wants to read them ALL THE TIME. Soon his obsession sends him spiralling into a life of crime!

A wonderfully funny story from a talented new author/illustrator.

My Thoughts: Ralfy loves book and will do anything to read more. I love one of the very first spreads in the book where it shows Ralphy’s book read list, and his TBR list, and his recommendation lists. This spread first has parodies of book titles and makes a little bit of fun of us Goodreads obsessed readers 🙂 What he doesn’t realize is that you don’t have to do crazy things to find books to read, you just have to find a library and all book wishes can come true.
(His story is not only about the love of books but also about how obsessions can get out of control if not rational.) Also, if you loved The Snatchabook, you’ll love Ralfy!

All Recommended For: 

Tagged with:
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *