Share

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
Sharing Picture Books, Early Readers, Middle Grade Books, and Young Adult Books for All Ages!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog hop co-hosted by Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts which focuses on sharing books marketed for children and young adults. It offers opportunities to share and recommend books with each other.

The original IMWAYR, with an adult literature focus, was started by Sheila at Book Journeys and is now hosted by Kathryn at The Book Date.

We encourage you to write your own post sharing what you’re reading, link up below, leave a comment, and support other IMWAYR bloggers by visiting and commenting on at least three of the other linked blogs.

Happy reading!

Bold_line

Updated Often: The Big List of Online Learning Resources for COVID-19 and Quarantine

Tuesday: Online Tools Recommended for Digital Teaching

Thursday: Everywhere Book Fest

Sunday: Author Guest Post: “Anatomy of a Middle Grade Manuscript” by Laurie Smollett Kutscera

**Click on any picture/link to view the post**

Bold_line

Kellee

  • Show Me a Sign by Ann Clare LeZotte: “Deaf author and librarian Ann Clare LeZotte weaves an Own Voices story inspired by the true history of a thriving deaf community on Martha’s Vineyard in the early 19th century. Mary Lambert has always felt safe and protected on her beloved island of Martha’s Vineyard… But recent events have delivered winds of change. Mary’s brother died, leaving her family shattered. Tensions over land disputes are mounting between English settlers and the Wampanoag people. And a cunning young scientist has arrived, hoping to discover the origin of the island’s prevalent deafness.”
  • Abby in Oz by Sarah Mlynowski: I love this series so much–I look forward to reviewing it on Thursday!
  • Max Meow: Cat Crusaders by John Gallagher: Fans of Dog Man, Captain Underpants, and Lunch Lady are going to love this new addition to the graphic novel superhero world! Max Meow accidentally gets powers, and he is so excited to save the day, but Agent M, an evil rat, will do anything to sabotage him. I will definitely be getting this one for my school library and for my son!
  • Bad Guys: Attack of the Zittens by Aaron Blabey: Bad Guys is such a silly story! I feel a bit bad for Wolf as he continually really does try to be good while the others aren’t always on the same page. The Shark was once again my favorite in this one.
  • Trent has been reading to his 1-year-old cousin a couple of nights a week (so cute btw!). This last week he read One Lonely Fish, Brown Bear, I’m a Librarian, and Nibbles Numbers. 
  • Virtual Read Alouds: Mac Barnett, Oliver Jeffers, Greg Pizzoli, Josh Funk, Michelle Obama, and Levar Burton.
    • I am so thankful for these virtual read alouds! Since March 30th, Trent has read 91 titles. A huge majority is because of these virtual read alouds (and his teacher reading a book a day!).
    • The Fate of Fausto by Oliver Jeffers is Trent’s go-to book since Oliver Jeffers read it. He has read it independently a few times since then.

To learn more about any of these books, check out my 2020 Goodreads Challenge page  or my read bookshelf on Goodreads.

Ricki

My one-year-old (He turned one this week!) can now crawl across the ground with a book in his hand. He thinks he’s absolutely brilliant and grins broadly when I lift him into my lap to read a book.

The boys and I finished Bad Guys: Attack of the Zittens by Aaron Blabey. The 6yo has a book club with Trent, and I am excited to hear them chat about it tomorrow!

The 6yo read Mac and Cheese by Sarah Weeks to me, too. He found it on his bookshelf and was intrigued. It was an adorable story. Now, whenever my kids are grumpy, I tell them not to be a “grumpy grump” like Cheese. 🙂

I didn’t read anything else new this week (but re-read many, many, MANY picture books), but I did submit a chapter to my editor for my book!

Bold_line

Kellee

  • Reading: Doodleville by Chad Sell
  • Listening: The Chupacaras of the Rio Grande by Adam Gidwitz and David Bowles
  • On Deck: Act by Kayla Miller & One Last Shot by John David Anderson
  • Listening with Trent: The Creature of the Pines by Adam Gidwitz

Ricki

Reading with the 6yo: The Creature of the Pines by Adam Gidwitz

Reading (a chapter a week) with the 3yo: Juana & Lucas by Juana Medina for his book club.

Reading for myself: Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Beginning of Everything by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland. I am loving this debut so far.

Bold_line

Tuesday: Virtual Book Clubs with our Kids During Quarantine

Thursday: Abby in Oz and the Whatever After Series by Sarah Mlynowski

Sunday: Author Guest Post: “What Kids Can Do to Help the Environment and Why Does It Matter?” by Tracy Richardson, Author of The Field and Catalyst

Bold_line

Link up below and go check out what everyone else is reading. Please support other bloggers by viewing and commenting on at least 3 other blogs. If you tweet about your Monday post, tag the tweet with #IMWAYR!

 Signature andRickiSig

 

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR 4/27/20

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I have to smile at the ‘many’ books you’re both sharing! It’s like this ‘stay-at-home’ time means an explosion of books! Glad to hear you’re all doing well! Have a wonderful week!

  2. Michele Knott says:

    Looking forward to reading ACT! The other two are big hits in my library. I saw the release date for it was pushed back. Quite a few books were pushed back. I completely understand, hopefully some time will allow authors to be able to tour more safely. Looking forward to when that can happen!!

  3. Lisa Maucione says:

    Wow, Trent has done so much reading! I love all the virtual read alouds and writing and drawing lessons that children’s authors have been doing recently. So generous of them to volunteer their time and talent.

  4. Shaye says:

    Kellee~ I’m excited to read Show Me a Sign. This sounds fantastic and I know I’ll need to share with my besting (an ASL interpreter who is also a speech pathologist).

    Ricki~ Congrats on submitting another chapter to your editor! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *